Skip to content

Ran, Run, Will Run

May 20, 2010

Hello! Welcome back.

So first things first… What’s my running background?

I have been running since sixth grade when I was convinced that cross-country was a good idea from my friends and parents. I continued to run cross-country and track through middle school and high school. I was certainly a fan of the endorphins that running provided me after I finished but I was often miserable during the run. Cross-country meets typically included tears and track was a high anxiety and stressful sport for me.

Throughout the past three years of college running has developed into an outlet for me. However, freshmen and sophomore year I ran because I wanted to avoid the infamous “freshmen fifteen.” I saw running as a calorie burner more than anything. Thanksgiving 2009 I ran with my Dad in a local 5K called the ‘Turkey Trot.’ I hadn’t been training but as soon as the gun went off my adrenaline kicked into high gear. To my surprise I actually ran the entire way without stopping. Let’s just say I was a tad bit proud of myself 😉

In February my Dad’s friend Monty (pictured below), his fellow co-worker and running buddy, suddenly passed away. This was a complete shock to everyone. My Dad and I decided to run a half marathon in his memory.

This is my Dad's close friend Monty.

We followed the Hal Hidgon’s Half Marathon Training Schedule.  With each passing week the miles added up. Running became enjoyable. It was wonderful to be able to spend time with my Dad. We were able to run together on Wednesdays and Saturdays and trained on our own for the other runs.  I can not even begin to explain how much that time meant to me.

Fast forward to Sunday, May 2, 2010. After 2:30:52 my Dad and I held hands and crossed the finished line together.  This was my first half marathon. I had this wonderful feeling of being part of something so much bigger than me. Each runner, walker, and individual in the crowd came to the race with a different purpose and goal. Our stories were all different but we all united together for that moment.

Dad and I after we finished the Cincinnati Flying Pig Half Marathon.

Needless to say… I’m hooked.  My current training schedule is the Hal Hidgon’s Half Marathon Recovery Program.  One day I will run a marathon but for now my goal is the Columbus Half Marathon in October.

Today has been a wonderful day thus far. I woke up this morning and went for a short 2 miles run and then I was off for a massage. It is bound to be a great day : )

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    May 21, 2010 12:54 pm

    Very nice – it means a lot to me as well.

Leave a Reply

