Skip to content

New Adventures

June 4, 2010

Well hello there…

I moved into my new apartment on Tuesday. As I mentioned before I am working on campus with a grant funded summer research grant. I am working 8-5 most day, working out, and then coming home and studying for the MCAT. I am not going to feel lazy this summer, that’s for sure : )

For the summer I have two roommates who are wonderful. They are both my sorority sisters. It will be nice to live in an apartment with them because they are both clean and so easy to get a long with. I am looking forward to getting to know them better throughout the summer.

I have been having a difficult time coming off of the half marathon training program through the use of the recovery program. After running a half marathon I figured that I would keep up the mileage and a similar vigor to the training program I used. However, with the recovery program I began to struggle with runs, which would have been easier before. After my next half marathon I will need to find a new strategy for keeping myself in shape.

So.. I am now planning to run the Spirit of Columbus Half Marathon with my Dad on August 29. The half begins at the Mall at Tuttle Crossing and ends at North Band Park. The official site for the half marathon explains the concept of the race:

“The ‘Spirit Of’ concept is about two things; the first is getting back to essence of ‘Racing.’ The second is about the ‘Spirit’ of the community that is hosting the event such as Columbus, Louisville and Pittsburgh.”

I am very excited to now have a half closer to the Columbus Half Marathon in October!

See you later:) Have a wonderful Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    June 4, 2010 1:03 pm

    It is going to be great training and running with you again. Keep up the great attitude!

Leave a Reply

