Skip to content

Lazy mornings

June 5, 2010

Today is one of those wonderful lazy mornings, which completely reminds me of the song Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer by Nat King Cole.

The song was played in a Gilmore Girls episode, one of my all time favorite tv shows. I would watch the episode and I would continue to sing this song for days after. I just have a good feeling about today! It is supposed to get up to 82! Wahoo! Summer is finally here.

The training schedule has a 4 mile run today; however, I am going to do a little switch and trade my run for tomorrow. It is so important to switch the training schedule to fit your needs but still get in the correct mileage. Today I am planning on hiding from the rain : )

This afternoon I am heading home to have a date with my long time best friend. She is the type of friend where you can talk for five hours straight and you have no idea how much time has actually passed. We are planning on going to see Killers. It looks like a cute movie. Sometimes it’s just nice to be able to watch fluff : )

I have been meaning to explain to you about my particular health and wellness story.. there is no time like the present πŸ™‚

For as long as I can remember I have had severe stomach problems. The pain that I experienced each time I ate lead to a weight loss of 40 pounds in high school. At the age of 16, I weighed under 100 pounds (I’m 5’8″) and I was completely miserable. The road to becoming a healthier individual became a huge struggle as the doctors were not able to tell me why I was experiencing so much pain. The final diagnosis was IBS, severe acid relux, and a possible unidentified allergy; however, my stomach problems were not going away when I was being treated. My weight continued to drop.

On my 20th birthday I decided to take my life in my own hands. I removed all gluten from my diet. Let me tell you gluten free is the way for me : )

I have learned how to make my own breads and treats and in the process removed most processed foods. I learned that I needed to listen to my body. I am beginning to feel healthy again.. it is certainly a wonderful feeling. For my New Year’s goal I decided that I wanted to run a half marathon, which is the half I ran with my Dad in May.

The other day I was running and I realized that I have the ability to make my life something great. I was listening to the song ‘Good Life’ by OneRepublic and the line ‘This could be a really really good life’ kept running through my head. The road to becoming a healthier individual is realizing that you are making the switch for yourself. I want to run and eat healthy. The turning point was taking my life in my own hands and realizing how certain foods affected me. Each day is another step to becoming a healthier and happier individual.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 11:26 pm

    Haha, the second I read the title of that song I immediately thought of Gilmore Girls! That was such a cute show. When it was on, people used to tell me that I reminded them of Lorelai with my coffee-chucking, speed-sarcasm ways. I certainly didn’t mind the comparison πŸ˜‰

    Your story is extremely inspiring. I think that any time a person decided to take their health into their own hands, it’s a hugely commendable step. I’m a very new reader to your blog but I’m already impressed. I can’t wait to read more – keep on tackling healthy eating head on!

Leave a Reply

