Skip to content

Smorgasbord

June 16, 2010

This weekend was a complete blur.  Friday I took a half day at work and headed out-of-town for my brother’s graduation.  Steve started university six years ago, which is crazy to even think about.  What started as a major in Classics changed in his junior year to Education. So he basically had to start over with his required class list.  But today he is a graduate.  I am so proud of him 🙂 This fall he will be heading to Costa Rica for student teaching and then he will be moving to South Carolina.  I have always admired Steve and I will miss him a ton when he moves out-of-state.  Sometimes these things are bitter-sweet.

So Saturday consisted of a four-hour graduation and a GREAT graduation party.  We had charcoal grilled brots and hamburgers.  There was fruit salad, bean salsa (I will post the recipe soon… it is DELICIOUS!), tortilla chips, and lots and lots of veggies. It tasted so so good 🙂

Sunday we had a surprise birthday party for my grandfather who actually turned 80 today! He has had such an incredible life- living on Alcatraz island to being a university president.  I wish that I could write down every story that he has told me.  I admire the man who my grandfather is and I am honored to be his granddaughter.

Today has been very productive thus far.  I woke up and studied an hour for the MCAT.  My new goal is to study 30 hours a week (I know.. it is a lot) until I take the exam July 16th.  I went for a three-mile run… but my blisters (from the shoes I wore to graduation…opps) ripped. Looks like I will need to use mole skin for the first time. A new trick I learned 🙂

Insert eight hours of work.

After work I headed to the grocery and by the time I got back to my apartment.. I was starving.  Quick and easy spaghetti it was!  I added canned pasta, minced garlic, carrots, spinach, EVOO, ground pepper, and parmesan together and added it to a bed of gluten-free spaghetti noodles and spinach.

The ingredients..

The result...

Although I would love to sit here and let you know it was the most amazing meal I have ever had… that is not exactly true. It was quick and easy but not nearly as good as my families spaghetti recipe. Perhaps I am just biased 😉

June 15, 2009 I headed to Lesotho, Africa for a study abroad experience.  I can not believe that a year has already passed.  Within the next few posts I will write an Africa reflection.. there is so much to cover. But until then.. here is a tiny glimpse.

Africa=love

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

